top of page

New posts / Every week 

Search

A little bit on my own work

Apologies for the lack of blog post last week, I have been caught up with deadlines for university. I've got a couple of different posts in my drafts I am working on so I'm hoping to post some varied content over the next couple of weeks. This week I thought that, in light of my current research, I would talk a little bit about my project.


So, a little about me - I am currently studying for an intercalated degree in Medical Humanities, prior to starting my final year of dental school in July. I wanted to undertake this degree to help explore health and medicine from a different perspective. I wanted to understand the greater context of health within society, the role that healthcare professionals have played, public perceptions of healthcare, and the influence of developments made in science and medicine. The history of dentistry has been a growing passion of mine over the previous year, and the dissertation aspect of the course allowed me to undertake my own research project in this field.

This question may seem quite broad, but I have identified some key themes within my research. I wish to explore the relationships between:

  • Legislation - the introduction of, and amendments made to, the Dentists' Act

  • Education - the developments and standardisation of dental education

  • Governing bodies - the role of the General Medical Council, and the later independence of the General Dental Council

  • Ethics - the development of ethics and codes of conduct within dental practice

I believe starting in the 1870s is significant as this was the period leading to the initial professionalisation of the dentistry, through the ratification of the Dentists’ Act 1878. The law was significant, as it introduced the dentists' register, but was of huge controversy amongst practicing individuals. As there was no standard education that dentists would undertake to practice, the suggested specifications of those who could practice became a contentious issue. Issues arose around surgeons who wished to carry on dental practice, individuals who had undertaken apprenticeship studies and most of the 'provincial' workforce having no formal education.


The act was by no means perfect, as it restricted the use of the term ‘dentist’ by unregistered individuals but did not restrict them from practicing under a different title. The restriction on unregistered practice was not introduced until 1921. This was in response to growing issues around corporates and unregistered individuals carrying out harmful and unethical practice, which emphasised the need for codes of conduct within the practice of dentistry.


I wish to explore the controversies within the profession regarding the developments in education, transitioning from the Licentiate in Dental Surgery (LDS) diploma and apprenticeships towards the Bachelor of Dental Surgery degree qualification, which we now associate with British dentistry. I also wish to identify the role of the General Medical Council in the governing of dental practice, the internal issues with the body and the eventual independence of the dental board to form the General Dental Council.


I believe that my research will highlight the developments of the dental profession not just within Britain, but within an international context, particularly in regard to the standardisation of education and ethical practice.


I hope to highlight how the professional identity and attributes of dentists developed over the modern period, as well as how the views of the individuals within the profession helped to shape the advancements that were made. For many years, dentistry was not seen to be deserving of independence and professional identity, and was viewed as a deprived area within medicine. The concept of professionalism is so important within healthcare and I want to explore its significance within dental practice.


Until next time,


Olliver

1 comment
bottom of page